On Fresh Resolve, Callings and Loving One Another.

I think fresh resolve is beautiful. But I’ve found that mine doesn’t come every January when the year resets but when I wake up in the morning and I feel cool morning air on my skin like some silent introduction to a new opportunity for servant-hood.

I believe with my whole heart that believers often use fear of the unknown as a shield to avoid the will of God. Consciously acknowledging that we have more to fear in the Lord than anything we encounter on this earth extinguishes our excuse to not step out in faith, but somehow we still cling to fear.

I recognize this in myself daily.  But the beautiful thing is that when we do the things that scare us, fear loses it’s grip in the power of God being displayed in our inability. I feel like I say that all the time, but the divine paradox that I see so constantly in this strange human to God relationship never ever ceases to make me breathless when I look at my Savior.

I’m currently 16. I graduated in 2012. I graduated early because I wanted out of school as soon as humanly possible and working hard for several years afforded me the freedom I’ve always clung to. I’m not particularly ‘quick,’ nor am I studious (unless I’m genuinely interested in what I’m learning.)

Highschool taught me I didn’t want to go to college and although I don’t believe it’s completely out of the question down the road, it’s currently not in the cards for me. I get asked a lot what I do with my time and what my plans are for the future. If you’re 16 and not studying, you obviously spend your time playing video games and surfing the internet, right?

One of my greatest fears is that the people who allude to me being lazy or unaccomplished are right. That because my story is doesn’t conform to social standards, I will fail. And everyone who ever doubted the actions I’ve taken will say, “I told you so.”

But the reality of the situation is brought before my eyes by a God who cares about my future more than I. He reminds me who I am and why I’ve made the choices that I’ve made.

He reminds me that He wants me in the untapped mission field of independent music. He reminds me that I’m not legally an adult and I’m working on a national tour that will give indie artists a much needed platform to share the gospel while we raise funds that will in turn feed children, starving in body and spirit all over the WORLD. The world is a big place.  He reminds me that He sees the sacrifices that I’ve made and the hits I’ve taken, and He is always there when I need a dose of perspective to see how small I am.

He reminds me that He who is in me is bigger than He who is in the World, and the He uses the weak to shame the strong.

Most of all, He reminds me that His plan for my life is so much better than the plans I have.

And my selfish fears for how people see me and whether my life will matter in the end shrink in light of a God worthy of our obedience.

My motives in writing this are two-fold.

1. Don’t belittle anyone for living a different lifestyle than you. Even if you think they’re irresponsible hippies. 😉 Chances are, they don’t understand you either. But God uses all His kids that are willing to step into the dynamic role of vessel-hood. Note the word dynamic. You’re not in charge of God’s will for them. We are not all capable of reaching the same people. Not to mention, it’s downright discouraging. Love each other, and trust God with the lives of those around you. It’s better that way.

2. Just do it. You know what I’m talking about. Step out in faith. If you believe in God, and God is asking you to do something, do it. Our lives here aren’t about being safe and comfortable. If they were, I wouldn’t be living in and RV right now, trust me. When you exemplify God’s faithfulness in your life by allowing Him to take the wheel, you’ll be invigorated as well as impact everyone who is watching you. Let this new year make you a new person that has the God-given courage to do insane things. The souls of humans you love dearly are on the line.

I hate that this sounds like a rant, but I can’t help but feel we all (myself included) could use some perspective as we start a new year. Heck, as we start a new day.

 

 “Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes or powerful or wealthy when God called you. Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful. God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important. As a result, no one can ever boast in the presence of God.

God has united you with Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made him to be wisdom itself. Christ made us right with God; he made us pure and holy, and he freed us from sin.  Therefore, as the Scriptures say, “If you want to boast, boast only about the Lord.”

1 Corinthians 1:26-31

 

Happy New Year.

 

Leave a Reply

