Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

I have a love hate relationship with mornings.

 

If you know me you know I’m sort of a sucker for symbolism and one of my favorite representatives of new beginnings is the morning.

 

Because no matter what you did yesterday, today is a new day. And the Lord’s mercies are new. And we are new (again.)

 

At the same time, I want to sleep through it. But I’ve been learning why the bible emphasizes rising early. There is a lot to be said for those sweet quiet hours that allow you to meditate and breathe without a demanding schedule or distractions to take you away from pondering God. It is in those untainted moments that we see Him seeing through us and we seek Him to guide us. And we listen.

And there is a lot to be said for that. Because when it comes to the Lord I’ll be honest. I’m not a good listener. This morning was a good one because as I went of a walk I found that there is a lot more than me in the world outside. And as obvious as that is, it’s something that we need to be reminded of. Especially me.

 

God has been speaking to me a lot about what being intentional really means, and it’s striking me more and more than being intentional is FAR from the glorification of busy. Things to put your hands to will come when you focus your attention on important things. My personal struggle with “busy” is that I hate waiting. And I need something work on, work out. And lately there has been a lot of things to think about and work on and work out. But I am so human that I taint the truth and refuse to listen to the message that is clearly being conveyed to me.

 

But this morning I listened. And I adorned myself with the HOPE that we have in Christ. And the new mercies that come every morning. And it’s just all good.

Leave a Reply

