Rambling

Hi, all.

I’ve been thinking a lot today about church. The Church, my church, growing up in Church. Christians being the Church. Etc.

I grew up in church. I actually have no recollection of not being involved in a church. As you know, my dad was a worship leader, a worship and youth pastor and involved in various ministries. My mom has done murals for a lot of the churches we’ve been in. My siblings and I grew up as musicians leading worship with our parents, and then on our own. We’ve grown with up with it as an integral part of our lives.

Sometimes, the gift of having known who Jesus is from a young age, becomes a bunch of white noise in a loud world. You know what I mean? It’s like the miracles fade in my mind. The sermons, the worship. It seems like the motions because it’s normal. Worship is normal. Jesus is just the normal. He’s common and His words are easy to access. We don’t cherish the Word.

But I notice that this rut only strikes me when I don’t take the time to look at who God is, intentionally recognize His hand in my life, and praise Him for the things He is doing in front of me, and behind the scenes.  Guys, the world puts an emphasis on what WE can do as humans. What we can accomplish, our careers, our incomes. Our our our. Us us us. Me me me.  And that noise, and bustle, and everything that’s going on in life, it’s easy to lose sight of how absolutely incredible Christ is. He’s breathtaking, you guys. He truly is.

Did you ever think that there might be a different way of life, than the one that the world is throwing you on? After highschool, it has to be college. After college, a career and marriage and a family and a big house in the suburbs and maybe church on Holidays, perhaps even every sunday.  But, in light of the words that Christ said while He was on earth, and in light of the callings that were placed on the life of His followers in the early church….there can be so much more. What if you did something radical?

 

Hmm. Rambling.

2 thoughts on “Rambling

Leave a Reply

